Back   Picture
Gallery Main Page   Deutsche Version
Objects in the Milky Way

Pleiades M45 H and Chi Persei Globular Cluster M92 Globular Cluster Palomar 5 Dumbbell Nebula M27 Ring Nebula M57 Horsehead Nebula G192.16-3.82 Veil Nebula Witch's Broom California Nebula Rosette Nebula

Pleiades
The Pleiades (M45), also called "Seven Sisters", are a 70 million years old open star cluster in Taurus with more then 1000 members. Depending on the brightness of the night sky one can see the five to eight brightest stars of this cluster with the naked eye. Between the stars several nebulous filaments are illuminated by the surrounding stars. The brightest stars are high mass stars, so they are hot and have a blue color. The so called Schmidt-Ghosts (visible as red, green or blue artificial longish structures with an extended halo) are due to starlight reflected from the correction plate of the Schmidt teleskop. This composite picture is based on images taken in the ultra-violet, yellow-green and red pass-band (Johnson UVR System). Image size: 1.4° x 1.0 °.


Higher resolution image:
5" x 5" per pixel (122 kB)

Selected scientific projects


H and Chi Persei
H and Chi Persei are two open star clusters (NGC869, NGC884) which are already visible with the naked eye. They are seperated by only 100 lightyears and are 7000 lightyears distant. Both are very young with an age of 11.7 and 10.8 million years for H and Chi, respectively. H is the right and Chi the left cluster in the image. The observations where carried out in the ultra-violett, blue and infrared bandpass (Johnson UB + I). Image size: 1.7° x 1.7°.


Higher resolution image:
10" x 10" per Pixel (111 kB)
5" x 5" per Pixel (455 kB)


M92
The Globular Cluster M92 has an age of about 10 billion years and belongs to the oldes objects in the Milky Way. He is situated in the Halo of our Galaxy at a distance of approximately 26000 light years. The cluster has a total luminosity of 100000 solar luminosities. At least 100000 stars belong to this cluster. M92 is visible through binoculars or a small telescope in the constellation Hercules. He is one of the best-studied globular clusters. This composite picture is based on images taken in the ultra-violet, blue and red pass-band (Johnson UBR System). Image size: 0.29° x 0.28°.


Higher resolution image:
4" x 4" per Pixel (61 kB)
2" x 2" per Pixel (201 kB)
1" x 1" per Pixel (623 kB)

Selected scientific projects


Palomar5
Not all globular clusters look so spectacular as M92. The sparse appearance of Palomar 5 is likely due to advanced destruction by strong galactic tidal forces. The cluster is at a distance of about 70000 light years. There is evidence for a devision of the halo globular clusters into two groups: such ones formed during the collapse of the protogalaxy and those formed from the subsequent infall and dispersal of satellite-galaxy sized units. The discovery of the disrupting Sagittarius dwarf galaxy in 1994 has reinforced this view. It has been suggested that the cluster Palomar 5 has been stripped from the Sagittarius galaxy. The CCD image was taken in the R pass-band. Image size: 0.14° x 0.14°.


Higher resolution image:
1.2" x 1.2" per Pixel (122 kB)

Selected scientific projects


Dumbbell Nebula
The Dumbbell Nebula (M27), called after its remarkable shape, was discovered in 1764 by Charles Messier in his search for comets. It is the first ever found object of the class of Planetary Nebulae. These objects form if a star has exhausted all its hydrogen reserves for nuclear fusion and undergoes the Red Giant phase in its evolution. Thereby pulsations and instabilities occur resulting in the ejection of parts of the outer shell of the star into the surrounding space. The star evolves into a hot, compact White Dwarf, visible as a bluish object in the centre of the image. It excites the surrounding gas and causes it to radiate. The image is based on Tautenburg CCD observations in the colours blue, red and infrared. Contrary to stars the gas does not radiate in the infrared, resulting in the blue-green colour of the nebula. Image size: 0.14° x 0.14°.


Higher resolution image:
1.2" x 1.2" per Pixel (42 kB)
0.6" x 0.6" per Pixel (105 kB)


Ring Nebula
The Ring Nebula (M57) in the constellation Lyra is a planetary nebula at a distance of about 2000 lightyears and a diameter of one lightyear. It was created when a sun-like star evolves to throw off its outer atmosphere and becomes a white dwarf. This composite picture is based on images taken in the blue, yellow-gree and red pass-band (Johnson BVR System). Image size: 0.1° x 0.1°.


Higher resolution image:
1.2" x 1.2" per Pixel (16 kB)
Ring Nebula Detail
In this four colour composite (BVR+Halpha) close-up of M57 one can infer the temperatures of different object parts by means of the colours. A high surface temperature of the white dwarf leads to his blue colour. The surrounding gas is getting cooler with the distance from the star. So we see a colour trend from green to red. This composite image also shows quite well the much more extended (three lightyears) red emission of atomic hydrogen, visualized by a contrast enhancement of the outer parts of the nebula. Image size: 0.05° x 0.05°.


Higher resolution image:
0.3" x 0.3" per Pixel (83 kB)


Horsehead Nebula
The Horsehead Nebula in Orion is the most famous dark cloud in the sky. Such clouds are a common place for star formation. This 1500 light years distant dust cloud is visible because it is situated in front of a bright emission nebula. In the image this emission is visible as green diffuse background. The colour image is composed of images taken in yellow-green, a narrow band and a red bandpass (V, [SII], I system). Since the dust absorbs all the visible and ultra-violet light, the stars behind the cloud appear in red colour. In contrast to the other images north is to the left here. Image size: 0.18° x 0.13°.


Higher resolution image:
1.2" x 1.2" per Pixel (22 kB)


G192.16-3.82
G192.16-3.82 is an ultra-compact HII (UCHII) region which shows a giant bipolar outflow known as HH 396/397. The distance to the object is about 6500 light years. Concerning the angular extension one determines a length of the outflow of more than 20 light years. Propagation of the outflow into the surrounding gas leads to shocks which excite the gas and cause the radiation. In the image the shocked gas appears blue (emission of atomic hydrogen) while its source, a protostar 20000 times more luminous than our sun, south of the reflection nebulosity (image centre), is hidden. The image was taken in the I-bandpass and the narrow band filter SII and Halpha. Spikes at the brighter stars in the image are due to overexposing of the CCD camera. Image size: 0.27° x 0.22°.


Higher resolution image:
1.2" x 1.2" per Pixel (251 kB)


Veil Nebula
The Veil Nebula, also called Cygnus Loop, in the constellation Cygnus is the remnant of a supernova, wich exploded more then ten thousand years ago. At that time, its apparent magnitude even exceeded the brightness of the full moon for several days. The present filamentary structure of the nebula is caused by the interaction of the expanding shock fronts with the interstellar medium. This 1400 light years distant object nowadays has an apparent diameter of 3° (six times the apparent diameter of the moon). This composite picture is based on images taken in the ultra-violet, blue and red pass-band (Johnson UBR System). Image size: 2.5° x 2.6°.


Higher resolution images:
20" x 20" per pixel (50 kB)
10" x 10" per pixel (246 kB)
5" x 5" per pixel (1.1 MB)
NGC 6992
This detail (NGC 6992) of the Veil Nebula shows the filamentary structure of the emitting gas. The shock front ionizes the gas and causes it to radiate. The red colour indicates the presence of hydrogen and the blue one that of oxygen. Image size: 0.51° x 0.47°.


Higher resolution images:
4" x 4" per pixel (67 kB)
2" x 2" per pixel (215 kB)
1" x 1" per pixel (0.8 MB)
NGC 6960
Blow-up of Witch's Broom (NGC 6960). The bright star is a foreground object which is not physically connected to the nebula. It can be seen with the unaided eye (4.2 magnitudes). Image size: 0.42° x 0.83°.


Higher resolution images:
4" x 4" per pixel (89 kB)
2" x 2" per pixel (312 kB)
1" x 1" per pixel (1.1 MB)


California Nebula
The California Nebula (NGC 1499) in Perseus is a large gas cloud at a distance of 1500 light-years, consisting mainly of ionized hydrogen. Note the bright star in the upper part of this picture. This star is situated in the close vicinity to the nebula. Its highly energetic light ionises the gas, causing it to radiate. Image size: 2.4° x 1.6 °.


Higher resolution images:
10" x 10" per pixel (117 kB)
5" x 5" per pixel (464 kB)


Rosetta Nebula
The Rosette Nebula is a gas and dust nebula with an open cluster (NGC 2244) in its centre, containing several young hot stars. These stars have formed some million years ago out of the material of the nebula. They produce an intense particle flow (stellar wind) which clears up the nebula and is responsible for the characteristic hole in its centre. The intense radiation of the stars ionises the gas. Image size: 1.4° x 1.3°.


Higher resolution images:
10" x 10" per pixel (62 kB)
5" x 5" per pixel (223 kB)

Zurück   Bildergalerie Hauptseite   English Version
Objekte der Milchstraße

Plejaden M45 H und Chi Perseus Kugelsternhaufen M92 Kugelsternhaufen Palomar 5 Hantelnebel M27 Ringnebel M57 Pferdekopfnebel G192.16-3.82 Cirrusnebel NGC 6960 Kaliforniennebel Rosettennebel

Plejaden
Die Plejaden (M45), im Volksmund auch Siebengestirn genannt, sind ein etwa 70 Millionen Jahre alter offener Sternhaufen im Sternbild Stier mit mehr als 1000 Mitgliedern. Je nach Helligkeit des Nachthimmels sind die fünf bis acht hellsten Sterne mit bloßem Auge erkennbar. Zwischen den Sternen ist ein Reflexionsnebel sichtbar. Die hellsten Sterne weisen eine blaue Farbe auf, da sie massereich und heiß sind. Durch teilweise Reflexion des Sternlichtes an der Schmidt-Korrektionsplatte des Teleskopes entstehen sogenannte "Schmidtgeister", die im nebenstehenden Bild als rote, grüne oder blaue künstliche längliche Strukturen mit ausgedehntem Halo sichtbar sind. Das Kompositbild basiert auf Aufnahmen in den Farben ultraviolett, gelbgrün und rot (Johnson UVR System). Die Bildgröße beträgt 1.4° x 1.0°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
5" x 5" pro Pixel (122 kB)

Wissenschaftliche Projekte (Auswahl)


H und Chi Perseus
H und Chi Perseus sind zwei offene Sternhaufen (NGC869, NGC884) die schon mit dem bloßen Auge sichtbar sind. Ihre Entfernung beträgt 7000 Lichtjahre und sie sind räumlich nur 100 Lichtjahre voneinander getrennt. Beide sind noch sehr jung, da ihr Alter etwa 11.7 (H) bzw. 10.8 (Chi) Millionen Jahre beträgt. Im Bild ist H rechts und Chi links zu sehen. Die Aufnahmen wurden im ultravioletten, blauen und infraroten aufgenommen (Johnson UB + I). Die Bildgröße beträgt 1.7° x 1.7°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
10" x 10" pro Pixel (111 kB)
5" x 5" pro Pixel (455 kB)


M92
Der Kugelsternhaufen M92 zählt mit einem Alter von mehr als 10 Milliarden Jahren zu den ältesten Objekten in unserer Milchstraße. Er befindet sich in einer Entfernung von ca. 26000 Lichtjahren im Halo unserer Milchstraße und umfaßt mindestens 100000 Sterne mit einer Gesamtleuchtkraft, die dem 100000-fachen der Sonnenleuchtkraft entspricht. M92 ist bereits mit einem Feldstecher oder kleinem Fernrohr im Sternbild Herkules beobachtbar. Er zählt zu den am besten untersuchten Kugelsternhaufen. Das Bild basiert auf Aufnahmen in den Farben ultraviolett, blau und rot (Johnson UBR System). Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.29° x 0.28°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
4" x 4" pro Pixel (61 kB)
2" x 2" pro Pixel (201 kB)
1" x 1" pro Pixel (623 kB)

Wissenschaftliche Projekte (Auswahl)


'Palomar 5
Nicht alle Kugelsternhaufen sehen so spektakulär aus wie M92. Die etwas kärgliche Erscheinung von Palomar 5 ist wahrscheinlich ein Ausdruck fortgeschrittener Auflösung des Haufens infolge der galaktischen Gezeitenkräfte. Der Haufen befindet sich in einer Entfernung von etwa 70000 Lichtjahren. Es gibt Hinweise dafür, daß die Halo-Kugelsternhaufen zwei unterschiedlichen Gruppen angehören: diejenigen, die während des Kollaps der Protogalaxis gebildet wurden und solche, die aus danach einfallenden Satellitengalaxien stammen. Die Entdeckung der Sagittarius-Zwerggalaxie im Jahre 1994 hat diese Sicht bestärkt. Es ist vermutet worden, daß Palomar 5 im Prozess der langsamen Auflösung der Sagittarius-Galaxie aus dieser herausgelöst worden ist. Die CCD-Aufnahme wurde im R-Band aufgenommen. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.14° x 0.14°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
1.2" x 1.2" pro Pixel (122 kB)

Wissenschaftliche Projekte (Auswahl)


Hantelnebel
Der Hantelnebel (M27) nach seinem prägnanten Aussehen benannt, wurde 1764 von Charles Messier bei der Suche nach Kometen entdeckt. Er ist der zuerst entdeckte Planetarische Nebel und zugleich ein Prototyp dieser Objektklasse. Planetarische Nebel entstehen, wenn ein Stern seinen Wasserstoffvorrat für die Kernfusion aufgebraucht hat und er kurzzeitig ein Riesenstern wird. Dabei treten in der Sternhülle Pulsationen und instabile Prozesse auf, bei denen Teile der äußeren Hülle in den Weltraum geschleudert werden. Der Stern entwickelt sich zu einem heißen, kompakten Weißen Zwerg. Er ist als bläuliches Objekt in der Bildmitte sichtbar und regt das umgebende Gas der abgestoßenen Hülle zum Leuchten an. Das Bild basiert auf Tautenburger CCD-Aufnahmen in den Farben blau, rot und infrarot. Das Gas leuchtet im Gegensatz zu den Sternen im Infrarot nicht, deshalb erscheint der Nebel blaugrün. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.14° x 0.14°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
1.2" x 1.2" pro Pixel (42 kB)
0.6" x 0.6" pro Pixel (105 kB)


Ringnebel
Der Ringnebel (M57) in der Leier ist ein etwa 2000 Lichtjahre entfernter planetarischer Nebel mit einem Durchmesser von einem Lichtjahr. Er entstand, als sich ein sonnenähnlicher Stern am Ende seines Lebens zu einem weißen Zwerg entwickelte, und dabei seine äußere Hülle abgestoßen hat. Das Bild basiert auf Aufnahmen in den Farben blau, gelbgrün und rot (Johnson BVR System). Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.1° x 0.1°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
1.2" x 1.2" pro Pixel (16 kB)
Ringnebel Detail
In diesem Vierfarbkomposit (BVR+Halpha) von M57 kann man anhand der Farben Rückschlüsse auf die Temperaturen der einzelnen Strukturen ziehen. Der weiße Zwerg besitzt eine sehr hohe Oberflächentemperatur und erscheint daher blau. Das umgebende Gas wird mit zunehmendem Abstand vom Stern immer kühler, was am Verlauf der Farben von grün nach rot zu erkennen ist. Sehr schön ist in diesem Bild die wesentlich ausgedehntere rote Emission (Durchmesser 3 Lichtjahre) des atomaren Wasserstoffs zu sehen, die durch Kontrastverstärkung der Außengebiete von M57 sichtbar wird. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.05° x 0.05°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
0.3" x 0.3" pro Pixel (83 kB)


Pferdekopfnebel
Der Pferdekopfnebel im Sternbild Orion ist wohl die bekannteste Dunkelwolke am Himmel. In Wolken solcher Art findet häufig Sternentstehung statt. Sichtbar ist die etwa 1500 Lichtjahre entfernte Staubwolke nur, da sie sich vor einem hellen Emissionsnebel befindet. Im Bild ist die Emission des angeregten Gases als grüner diffuser Hintergrund sichtbar. Das Farbbild wurde aus Aufnahmen, die mit einem gelbgrünen, einem Schmalband- und einem roten Filter gewonnen wurden, zusammengesetzt (V, [SII], I Farbbereich). Da der Staub das rote Licht weniger absorbiert, erscheint das Licht der Sterne hinter der Wolke rötlich. Im Gegensatz zu den anderen Bildern ist hier Norden links. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.18° x 0.13°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
1.2" x 1.2" pro Pixel (22 kB)


G192.16-3.82
G192.16-3.82 ist eine ultrakompakte HII Region (UCHII) mit einer großen bipolaren Ausströmung die auch als HH 396/397 bekannt ist. Die Entfernung des Objektes beträgt etwa 6500 Lichtjahre und die Länge der Ausströmung mehr als 20 Lichtjahre. Die Ausbreitung der Ausströmung in das umgebende Gas führt zur Ausbildung einer Schockfront. Diese regt das Gas zum Leuchten an. Im Bild erscheint das angeregte Gas blau (Emission von atomarem Wasserstoff), während die Quelle der Auströmung, ein Protostern der etwa 20000 mal leuchtkräftiger als unsere Sonne ist, südlich des Reflexionsnebels (Bildmitte), verborgen bleibt. Das Bild wurde im I-Band sowie in den beiden Schmalbandfiltern SII und Halpha aufgenommen. Das "Auslaufen" der helleren Sterne im Bild wird durch Überbelichtung der CCD Kamera hervorgerufen. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.27° x 0.22°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
1.2" x 1.2" pro Pixel (251 kB)


Cirrusnebel
Der Cirrusnebel, auch Schleiernebel genannt, ist der etwa 1400 Lichtjahre entfernte Überrest einer Supernova, die vor mehr als zehntausend Jahren im Sternbild Schwan explodiert ist. Ihre scheinbare Helligkeit überstieg damals für einige Tage sogar die des Vollmondes. Die expandierende Schockfront der Supernova ist heute als ringförmige Filamentstruktur sichtbar. Sie hat einen Durchmesser von mehr als drei Grad am Himmel (das Sechsfache des scheinbaren Monddurchmessers). Das Kompositbild basiert auf Aufnahmen in den Farben ultraviolett, blau und rot (Johnson UBR System). Bildgröße: 2.5° x 2.6°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
20" x 20" pro Pixel (50 kB)
10" x 10" pro Pixel (246 kB)
5" x 5" pro Pixel (1.1 MB)
NGC 6992
Die Ausschnittsvergrößerung (NGC 6992) zeigt die filamentartige Struktur der Schockfront. Sie entsteht durch die Wechselwirkung der expandierenden Hülle der Supernovaexplosion mit dem interstellaren Gas. Das Gas wird durch die Schockfronten zum Leuchten angeregt. Im nebenstehenden Bild leuchtet Wasserstoff rot und Sauerstoff blau. Bildgröße: 0.51° x 0.47°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
4" x 4" pro Pixel (67 kB)
2" x 2" pro Pixel (215 kB)
1" x 1" pro Pixel (0.8 MB)
NGC 6960
Detailvergrößerung (NGC 6960). Der Helle Stern Stern 52Cyg steht nur zufällig in dieser Richtung und kann mit dem bloßem Auge gesehen werden (V = 4.2 mag). Bildgröße: 0.42° x 0.83°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
4" x 4" pro Pixel (89 kB)
2" x 2" pro Pixel (312 kB)
1" x 1" pro Pixel (1.1 MB)


Kaliforniennebel
Der Kaliforniennebel (NGC 1499) im Sternbild Perseus ist eine große Gaswolke, die im wesentlichen aus ionisiertem Wasserstoff besteht. In der oberen Bildhälfte ist ein heller Stern sichtbar. Er befindet sich in unmittelbarer räumlicher Nachbarschaft des Gasnebels. Sein energiereiches Licht ionisiert das Gas des Nebels und regt es zum Leuchten an. Die Entfernung des Kaliforniennebels beträgt etwa 1500 Lichtjahre. Bildgröße: 2.4° x 1.6°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
10" x 10" pro Pixel (117 kB)
5" x 5" pro Pixel (464 kB)


Rosettennebel
Der Rosettennebel ist ein Gas- und Staubnebel, in dessen Zentrum sich ein offener Sternhaufen (NGC 2244) mit mehreren jungen heißen Sternen befindet. Diese Sterne haben sich vor einigen Millionen Jahren aus dem Gas und Staub des Nebels gebildet. Von ihnen geht einerseits ein intensiver Teilchenstrom (Sternwind) aus, der das umliegende Gas wegbläst und den charakteristischen Hohlraum im Zentrum des Nebels erzeugt. Zum anderen ionisiert ihre energiereiche Strahlung das Gas und bringt den Nebel so zum Leuchten. Die Bildgröße beträgt 1.4° x 1.3°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
10" x 10" pro Pixel (62 kB)
5" x 5" pro Pixel (223 kB)