Back   Picture
Gallery Main Page   Deutsche Version

Solar System and Atmospheric Phenomena

Minor Planet Tautenburg C/2001 Q4 NEAT Churyumov-Gerasimenko Hyakutake HaleBopp Benett Earth's moon Laser Beam Thunderstorm Aurora Borealis

Minor Planet Tautenburg
The Minor Planet Tautenburg (planetoid No. 2424) is the first Minor Planet discovered at Tautenburg Observatory and numbered by the Minor Planet Center. Planetoids can easily be found on long-exposed plates, since their images are stroke-like instead of star-like due to their relative movement with respect to the stars during the exposure. On Tautenburg photographic Schmidt plates (taken from 1960 to 1995) more than 5000 Minor Planets have been found and measured. Among them are more than 3100 new objects. So far (24.10.2006), 523 of these Minor Planets have been numbered. Such absolutely confirmed objects can be named by the discoverer. The majority of the numbered Tautenburg objects is already named.
This plate was taken on November 2nd, 1973, at 21:21-22:06 UT. The displayed image is a tiny 0.06% fraction of the total plate area. The prominent galaxy in the lower part is PGC 5342, a 16th magnitude barred spiral about 700 million light years away. Image size: 0.073° x 0.094° (4.4' x 5.6')


Higher resolution image:
0.5" x 0.5" per pixel (63 kB)


C/2001 Q4 NEAT
The comet C/2001 Q4 NEAT was observed at the 20th of May 2004 with the CCD camera of the Tautenburg Schmidt telescope. At its discovery on Augst 24th 2001, this long-periodic comet was still very far away from the sun (10.1 AU, beyond the orbit of Saturn). In the following months the comet approached the Sun and reached a perihelion distance of 0.96 AU on May 15th 2004. During that time it had a brightness of about 3 magnitudes, i.e. 25 times fainter than Hale-Bopp. The diameter of the core of the comet is estimated to be 5-10 km, similar as the core of comet Halley. The streaming plasma tail (in the image directed to the right side of the lower boundary) reached in May 2004 a maximum length of about 6-7 Mio. km. The image also shows very nicely the extended gas envelope, which is symmetrically around the core. The light of this envelope is emission from gaseous carbon compounds. The image contains four colour images, which were built from different combinations of four single frames. These frames were taken with the filters B (blue), V (yellow-green), R (red) and I (infrared). The exposure times per single frame were about one minute. Each of these four images has a size of 0.17° x 0.17° (10.4' x 10.4').


Higher resolution image:
1.25" x 1.25" pro Pixel (159 kB)


Churyumov-Gerasimenko
The comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko was observed in a cooperation with a research group at the DLR. The object is extremely faint and was exposed 36 minutes in the red pass-band to reveal faint structures. For comparison: The nucleus of the popular comet Hale-Bopp is 17 times larger in radius (~34 km), and the comet was one million times brighter. Image size: 0.19° x 0.19° (11.6' x 11.6')
The comet shown here is today the most probable new target for the european space mission Rosetta. The image taken at the 27th of March 2003 shows the comet at 2.6 AU distance from the sun and 1.7 AU distance from the Earth. The star trails emerge from the proper motion of the comet. During the observations, the comet moved away from the sun. During the next but one approach to the sun in 2015 it could be accompanied by the Rosetta spacecraft. From this mission, one expects information about chemical composition and properties of the comet. This will lead to conclusions about the history of our solar system.


Higher resolution image:
1.6" x 1.6" per pixel (48 kB)
0.8" x 0.8" per pixel (260 kB)


Hyakutake
The comet Hyakutake, discovered at the 30th of January in 1996, was observed in Tautenburg at the 26th of March 1996. One day earlier, the comets closest approach to the Earth occured (0.1 AU). Thus, Hyakutake is one of the comets comming nearest to our planet. The core of the Hyakutake has a radius of only 2.4 km. Nevertheless, the comet reached a brightness of 0 magnitudes (equivalent to the maximum brightness of the planet Saturn), because of its small distance to the Earth. At the image, the core is clearly surrounded by a diffuse coma of cyanid. Hyakutake has a very excentric orbit, hence, he will not come close to the sun for nearly 30000 years. The image shows the comet in the blue pass-band, the exposure time was 15 minutes.


larger image: (118 kB)


HaleBopp
The comet Hale-Bopp, here we show an image taken at the 8th of April in 1997, was the most spectacular and active comet since the 18th century. In the beginning of April 1997 he came closest to the Earth (1.4 AU). Hale-Bopp has a core radius of about 35 km. Anyway, he was 1.6 times brighter than Hyakutake, in spite of the significantly larger distance. The trail of Hale-Bopp was extended 20 degrees in the sky. This corresponds to a length of 150 Million km or the distance from Earth to Sun. The comet was discovered by the Americans Alan Hale and Thomas Bopp at the 23th July 1995, with independent observations. Similar to Hyakutake, Hale-Bopp will be far away from the inner solar system for a long time. Long periodic comets like Hale-Bopp have their origin in Oort's cloud, a spherical reservoir of comet cores, surrounding our solar system at a distance of ten to onehundred thousend AU. The image was obtained in the ultra-violet pass-band, and the exposure time was 18 minutes.


larger image: (75 kB)


Benett
The comet Bennett was observed in April 1970. At this time, he was 0.94 AU distant from the Earth and 0.77 AU from the sun. His brightness was 3.5 magnitudes, about 40 times fainter than Hale-Bopp at his maximum. The image shows Bennett in the ultra-violet pass-band with 30 minutes exposure time. Bennett was discovered at the 28th of December in 1969 with a brightness of 8.5 magnitudes. Subsequently he became quickly brighter and then (similarly quickly) fainter. The image shows clearly the structured, straight plasma trail, which forms through interaction of carbon monoxid ions with the solar wind. The carbon monoxide is released by sublimation of frozen material when the comet approaches the sun. Since comets still contain frozen carbon monoxide, their chemical structure must not have changed since the time of their formation. Hence, they are of great interest as remnants of the time of the solar system formation.


larger image: (94 kB)


Moon
The Earth's moon five days to full Moon. The large impact crater in the centre near the terminator (the border between the illuminated and the dark side) is called Copernicus. This crater is 97 km in diameter and 3.8 km deep. In the polar regions (bottom and top) further major impact craters are visible. The extended darker areas are called Mare (oceans). The picture was taken at the 15th of January in 1962 during the test phase of the telescope. Image size: 0.43° x 0.52 °


Higher resolution image:
3" x 3" per pixel (39 kB)


Laser Beam
In a cooperation with the German-French Teramobile Project a laser beam (maximum power 5 terawatt, minimum puls length 70 femtoseconds) was observed. Such laser pulses propagating in the earth's atmosphere form thin filaments with high intensity and lengths of several hundred meters through a balance of self-focusing and plasma defocusing. Whereas the actual laser emits in the red (800nm), the laser spectrum is broadened in the filaments at least from 250nm up to 4000nm. With this laser in connection with a powerful telescope it will be possible to perform detailed investigations of the earth's atmosphere. Image size: 0.55° x 0.55°


Higher resolution image:
2.5" x 2.5" per pixel (25 kB)
1.25" x 1.25" per pixel (98 kB)
Laser Beam
The upper colour image is a combination of CCD images taken in the blue, red and infrared bandpass. The structure in the center of the image can be explained by interaction of the laser beam with two cloud layers at 6 and 7.5km elevation. In the lower image the blue part was enhanced, to point out the structures the laser forms in the atmosphere. One can see a blue halo around the laser beam. For a better visibility the stars are removed. Image size: 0.55° x 0.55°.


Higher resolution image:
2.5" x 2.5" per pixel (40 kB)
1.25" x 1.25" per pixel (234 kB)


Thunderstorm
Snapshots from a thunderstorm. (Author: Christian Högner).


Large image (940 kB)
Thunderstorm


Large image (1.2 MB)
Thunderstorm


Large image (1.2 MB)


Aurora Borealis
Aurora borealis. (Author: Christian Högner) .


Larger image (62 kB)
Aurora Borealis


Larger image (62 kB)

Zurück   Bildergalerie Hauptseite   English Version

Objekte des Sonnensystems und atmosphärische Phänomene

Kleiner Planet Tautenburg C/2001 Q4 NEAT Churyumov-Gerasimenko Hyakutake HaleBopp Benett Erdmond Laserstrahl Thunderstorm Aurora Borealis

Kleiner Planet Tautenburg
Der Kleine Planet Tautenburg (Planetoid Nr. 2424) ist der erste in Tautenburg entdeckte Asteroid, der vom Minor Planet Center numeriert wurde. Planetoiden sind auf langbelichteten Aufnahmen leicht anhand ihrer Strichspur erkennbar, die sie infolge ihrer Bewegung relativ zu den Sternen während der Belichtung verursachen. Auf Tautenburger Photoplatten der Jahre 1960 bis 1995 wurden mehr als 5000 Kleinplaneten gefunden und vermessen. Davon waren mehr als 3100 neue Objekte. Bis jetzt wurden davon 523 Objekte definitiv bezeichnet und numeriert (Stand: 24.10.2006). Solche absolut gesicherten Objekte dürfen vom Entdecker benannt werden. An den größten Teil der numerierten Tautenburger Objekte wurden bereits Namen vergeben.
Die Aufnahme entstand am 2. November 1973 um 22:21-23:06 MEZ. Der gezeigte Bildausschnitt umfaßt lediglich 0.06% der Gesamtfläche der Photoplatte. Die Galaxie im unteren Bildteil ist PGC 5342, eine Balkenspiralgalaxie 16. Größenklasse in einer Entfernung von rund 700 Millionen Lichtjahren. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.073° x 0.094° (4.4' x 5.6').


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
0.5" x 0.5" pro Pixel (63 kB)


C/2001 Q4 NEAT
Der Komet C/2001 Q4 NEAT wurde mit der CCD des Tautenburger Schmidtteleskops am 20.5.2004 beobachtet. Bei seiner Entdeckung am 24.8.2001 war dieser langperiodische Komet mit 10.1 AE noch sehr weit von der Sonne entfernt (jenseits der Saturn-Bahn). Anschließend näherte er sich der Sonne bis auf 0.96 AE (15.5.2004) und erreichte in diesem Zeitraum eine Helligkeit dritter Größe. Damit war er im Maximum etwa 25mal lichtschwächer als Hale-Bopp. Der Durchmesser des Kometenkerns wird auf 5-10 km geschätzt, ähnlich groß wie der Kern des Kometen Halley. Der strahlenartige Plasmaschweif (im Bild rechts nach unten) erreichte im Mai 2004 eine Maximallänge von etwa 6-7 Mio. km. Außerdem zeigt das Bild deutlich die ausgedehnte Gashülle symmetrisch um den Kern, deren Lichtemission hauptsächlich von gasförmigem Kohlenstoffverbindungen stammt. Die Abbildung enthält vier Farbbilder, erstellt aus unterschiedlichen Kombinationen von vier Einzelaufnahmen, die mit den Filtern B (blau), V (gelbgrün), R (rot) und I (infrarot) gewonnen wurden. Die Belichtungszeiten betrugen jeweils etwa eine Minute pro Einzelbild. Jedes der vier Bilder ist 0.17° x 0.17° (10.4' x 10.4') groß.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
1.25" x 1.25" pro Pixel (159 kB)


Churyumov-Gerasimenko
Der Komet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko wurde im Rahmen der Kooperation mit einer Forschungsgruppe des DLR beobachtet. Er ist sehr lichtschwach und wurde 36 Minuten im Rot-Filter belichtet, um schwache Strukturen erkennbar zu machen. Zum Vergleich: Der Kern des populären Kometen Hale-Bopp hat einen 17mal größeren Radius (~34 km), und der Komet war etwa eine Million mal heller. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.19° x 0.19° (11.6' x 11.6').
Der hier gezeigte Komet ist das zur Zeit wahrscheinlichste neue Ziel der europäischen Weltraummission Rosetta. Die Aufnahme vom 27. März 2003 zeigt den Kometen in 2.6 AE Abstand von der Sonne und 1.7 AE Abstand von der Erde. Aufgrund der Eigenbewegung des Kometen sind die Sterne zu Strichspuren in die Länge gezogen. Während der Beobachtung entfernte sich der Komet von der Sonne. Bei der übernächsten Annäherung an die Sonne im Jahr 2015 könnte er von der Rosetta-Sonde begleitet werden. Von ihr erhofft man sich Erkenntnisse über Zusammensetzung und Eigenschaften des Kometen. Diese werden es erlauben, Rückschlüsse auf die Entstehungsgeschichte des Sonnensystems zu ziehen.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
1.6" x 1.6" pro Pixel (48 kB)
0.8" x 0.8" pro Pixel (260 kB)


Hyakutake
Der Komet Hyakutake, entdeckt am 30.1.1996, wurde in Tautenburg am 26.3.1996 beobachtet. Einen Tag zuvor erreichte er mit 0.10 AE seine größte Annäherung an die Erde. Damit ist Hyakutake einer der Kometen, die der Erde am nächsten gekommen sind. Der Kern des Kometen hat einen Radius von nur 2.4 km. Durch seine geringe Entfernung zur Erde erreichte er trotzdem eine Helligkeit von 0 Größenklassen. Dies entspricht der maximalen Helligkeit des Planeten Saturn. Der Kometenkern ist auf dem Bild deutlich sichtbar von einer diffusen Koma umgeben, die zum Großteil aus Cyanid besteht. Aufgrund seiner exzentrischen Bahn wird Hyakutake für fast 30000 Jahre nicht mehr in die Nähe der Sonne kommen. Die Aufnahme wurde im Blau-Filter gewonnen, die Belichtungszeit betrug 15 Minuten.


Größeres Bild: (118 kB)


HaleBopp
Der Komet Hale-Bopp, hier in einer Aufnahme vom 8.4.1997, war der spektakulärste und aktivste Komet seit dem 18. Jahrhundert. Anfang April 1997 erreichte er mit 1.4 AU seine größte Annäherung an die Erde. Hale-Bopp hat einen Kernradius von ca. 35 km. Deshalb war er trotz der wesentlich größeren Entfernung 1.6mal heller als Hyakutake. Der Schweif von Hale-Bopp hatte am Himmel eine Länge von 20 Grad. Dies entspricht 150 Millionen Kilometern oder der Entfernung Erde-Sonne. Genau wie Hyakutake wird Hale-Bopp für lange Zeit nicht mehr in die Nähe der Sonne kommen. Entdeckt wurde er in unabhängigen Beobachtungen von den Amerikanern Alan Hale und Thomas Bopp am 23.7.1995. Langperiodische Kometen wie Hale-Bopp entstammen der Oortschen Wolke, einem sphärischen Reservoir an Kometenkernen, das unser Sonnensystem in einer Entfernung von zehn- bis einhunderttausend AE umgiebt. Das Bild wurde im Ultraviolett-Filter aufgenommen, die Belichtungszeit betrug 18 Minuten.


Größeres Bild: (75 kB)


Benett
Im April 1970 wurde der Komet Bennett beobachtet. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war er 0.94 AE von der Erde und 0.77 AE von der Sonne entfernt. Seine Helligkeit betrug 3.5 Größenklassen, 40mal schwächer als Hale-Bopp im Maximum. Das Bild zeigt Bennett im Ultraviolett-Filter auf einer 30 Minuten belichteten Aufnahme. Bennett wurde am 28.12.1969 bei einer Helligkeit von 8.5 Größenklassen entdeckt; danach wurde er rasch heller und wieder schwächer. Deutlich erkennbar ist ein strukturierter, gerader Plasmaschweif, der durch Wechselwirkung von Kohlenmonoxid-Ionen mit dem Sonnenwind entsteht. Das Kohlenmonoxid wird durch Sublimation gefrorenen Materials bei der Annäherung an die Sonne freigesetzt. Die Tatsache, daß Kometen noch gefrorenes Kohlenmonoxid enthalten, zeigt, daß sie sich seit ihrer Entstehung sehr wenig verändert haben. Darum sind sie als Überreste aus der Zeit der Entstehung des Sonnensystems von großem Interesse.


Größeres Bild: (94 kB)


Mond
Der Erdmond fünf Tage vor Vollmond. Der große Einschlagkrater in der Bildmitte nahe der Schattengrenze (Terminator) ist der Kopernikus-Krater, er hat einen Durchmesser von 97 km und eine Tiefe von 3.8 km. An den Polen (oben und unten) sind weitere große Einschlagkrater erkennbar. Die dunklen Flächen werden als Mare (Meere) bezeichnet, bei ihnen handelt es sich um mit erkalteter Mondlava gefüllte Gebiete. Diese Aufnahme entstand am 15.01.1962 im Zuge der Erprobung des Teleskops. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.43° x 0.52 °.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
3" x 3" pro Pixel (39 kB)


Laserstrahl
Im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutsch-Französischen Teramobil-Projekt wurde im Februar 2002 der Strahl eines Lasers (Spitzenleistung 5 Terawatt, minimale Pulslänge 70 Femtosekunden) beobachtet. Wenn sich derartige Laserpulse in der Erdatmosphäre ausbreiten, bilden sich durch eine Balance von Selbstfokussierung und Plasmazerstreuung haardünne Filamente mit hoher Intensität und Längen von einigen hundert Metern. Während der eigentliche Laser im Roten strahlt (800nm), verbreitert sich das Laserspektrum in den Filamenten vom ultravioletten bis zum infraroten Licht (250nm bis 4000nm). Mit diesem Laser in Verbindung mit einem leistungsstarken Teleskop sind genaue Untersuchungen der Erdatmosphäre möglich. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.55° x 0.55°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
2.5" x 2.5" pro Pixel (25 kB)
1.25" x 1.25" pro Pixel (98 kB)
Laserstrahl
Das obere Farbbild ist eine Kombination von CCD-Aufnahmen in den Farben blau, rot und infrarot. Die Struktur in der Mitte des Bildes entsteht durch Wechselwirkung des Laserstrahls an zwei Wolkenschichten in 6 und 7.5km Höhe. Um zu verdeutlichen, welche Strukturen der Laser in der Atmosphäre erzeugt, wurde im unteren Bild der blaue Anteil verstärkt. Man erkennt einen blauen Halo rings um den eigentlichen Laserstrahl. Für eine bessere Sichtbarkeit wurden die Sterne aus der Aufnahme entfernt. Die Bildgröße beträgt 0.55° x 0.55°.


Bild mit höherer Auflösung:
2.5" x 2.5" pro pixel (40 kB)
1.25" x 1.25" pro pixel (234 kB)


Thunderstorm
Gewitter in Tautenburg. (Autor: Christian Högner).


Größeres Bild (940 kB)
Thunderstorm


Größeres Bild (1.2 MB)
Thunderstorm


Größeres Bild (1.2 MB)


Aurora Borealis
Nordlichter. (Author: Christian Högner) .


Größeres Bild (62 kB)
Aurora Borealis


Größeres Bild (62 kB)