Back   Picture
Gallery Main Page   Deutsche Version


Astronomical pictures taken with the Tautenburg Schmidt Camera




The image gallery pages present selected astronomical images taken with the Tautenburg Schmidt Camera on photographic plates or CCD. The effective size of the plates is 23cm x 23cm. This is equivalent to a field of view of 3.3° x 3.3° on the sky. For comparison: The full Moon has an apparent diameter of 0.5°. The CCD uses only a field of 0.7° x 0.7°, but is much more sensitve and thus needs only shorter exposure times.

The photographic plates have been completely digitized by means of the Tautenburg Plate Scanner. The linear resolution is 10µm x 10µm (0.5" x 0.5") per pixel. Thus, the resulting digital images of the photographic plates are 23000 x 23000 pixels in size. Each pixel is digitized with 4096 grey levels (12 bit resolution). This results in 1 GB of data per digitized plate.

The following pictures are presented either as grey-scale images or as colour composits. The grey-scale images show the intensity distribution of the oncoming light as registered by the detector (photographic plate or CCD). In contrast, the colour images are the result of a digital combination of several grey-scale images of the same part of the sky taken through different filters. The digital colour images are created by the assignment of the individual grey-scale images to a corresponding colour channel (red, green and blue). If several images of the same pass-band were available, these images were digitally co-added in a first step to achieve a higher signal-to-noise ratio.

Some images are displayed with reduced resolution. The reproduction is allowed for private purposes or for education only, provided that the source "Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg" is cited. Any publication or commercial usage request a prior written consent of the Thüringer Landessternwarte. All copyrights remain at the Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg.

Back   Picture
Gallery Main Page   Deutsche Version


Himmelsaufnahmen mit der Tautenburger Schmidtkamera




Die Seiten zeigen ausgewählte astronomische Aufnahmen, die mit der Tautenburger Schmidtkamera auf Photoplatten oder CCD gewonnen worden sind. Das auf den Photoplatten nutzbare effektive Bildfeld beträgt 23cm x 23cm. Es entspricht einem Himmelsausschnitt von 3.3° x 3.3°. Zum Vergleich: Der Vollmond hat einen scheinbaren Durchmesser von 0.5°. Die CCD nutzt hingegen nur ein Feld von 0.7° x 0.7°. CCDs sind jedoch um ein Vielfaches empfindlicher als Photoplatten, so daß entsprechend kürzere Belichtungszeiten nötig sind.

Die Photoplatten wurden vollständig mit dem Tautenburger Plattenscanner digitalisiert. Die Auflösung beträgt hierbei 10µm x 10µm (0.5" x 0.5") pro Pixel. Das digitale Abbild einer Photoplatte umfaßt damit 23000 x 23000 Pixel. Durch die Digitalisierungstiefe von 4096 Graustufen (12 Bit) pro Pixel wird ein Speicherplatz von 1 GB pro Photoplatte benötigt.

Bei den gezeigten Bildern handelt es sich entweder um Graustufenbilder oder um farbige Kompositbilder. Die Graustufenbilder geben die Intensität des ankommenden Lichtes an, wie sie vom Empfänger (Photoplatte oder CCD) registriert wurde. Bei den Kompositbildern handelt es sich um die digitale Kombination mehrerer Einzelaufnahmen, die vom gleichen Himmelsausschnitt in insgesamt drei verschiedenen Farben gewonnen worden sind. Durch Zuordnung der jeweiligen Graustufenbilder zu den drei Farbkanälen (rot, grün und blau) entsteht das farbige Kompositbild.

Es werden Bildausschnitte mit teilweise stark verringerter Auflösung präsentiert. Die Benutzung der Bilder ist nur für den Privatgebrauch oder den Unterricht - unter Angabe der Quelle: "Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg" - zulässig; jede Veröffentlichung oder gewerbliche Nutzung ist ohne schriftliche Einwilligung der Thüringer Landessternwarte untersagt. Alle Urheberrechte verbleiben bei der Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg.